CDP Training

Posted on

Within the UK there are around 7,000 SQPs many of which are employed through AHDA members companies and organisations. All qualified SQPs need to comply with the code of practice and obtain CPD points over a given time. This is not only about collecting the necessary points required but about staying informed and gaining knowledge to improve the skill set of each SQP, across the sectors.

Each year AHDA together with AMTRA host a number of CPD events across the UK with the focus on CPD for companion animal and farm animal SQPs. For 2018 the dates and locations of these CPD events is as follows;

Dates and locations:
Wednesday 16th May Eight Acres Hotel, Elgin
Thursday 17th May Stirling Golf Club, Stirling
Wednesday 23rd May Duchy College, Climsland Campus, Cornwall
Thursday 24th May Mendip Golf Club, Somerset

Wednesday 13th June Walsh’s Hotel, Maghera, Northern Ireland
Monday 25th June Newton Rigg College, Cumbria
Tuesday 26th June The Bridge Hotel, N Yorkshire
Wednesday 11th July Ivy Bush Royal Hotel, Carmarthen
Thursday 12th July Mascall Centre, Ludlow
Monday 30th July Lee Wood Hotel, Buxton
Tuesday 31st July Llysfasi College, Llysfasi
Wednesday 1st Aug, Gaudet Luce Golf Club, Droitwich Spa

Presentations:
2.00pm – 2.50pm External parasites for cats and dogs
2.50pm – 3.40pm Presentation on companion animal Nutrition
3.40pm – 4.30pm Update on VMD inspections
4.40pm – 5.00pm Break
5.00pm – 5.50pm Parasites and Profitability
5.50pm – 6.40pm A ‘how to’ guide to rodenticides
6.40pm – 7.30pm A ‘how to’ guide to correct medicine treatment techniques

Other valuable CPD can be obtained through training that is provided in house and also a growing area is on line CPD which can cover a greater range of topics for SQPs.

Another great source of CPD input is provided through the annual AHDA Conference and exhibition that is held in January of each year. For 2019 the dates are the Wednesday 16th and Thursday 17th January 2019. The event will be held at the Hilton Metropole Hotel at the NEC Birmingham. For this coming event there will be an increased focus on the companion animal sector.